Singapore, 15 November 2012 – Sister production companies NHNZ and BHP this week scooped eight nominations for the 2012 Asian Television Awards.

NHNZ’s Head of Production Andrew Waterworth said it was a real credit to both BHP and NHNZ’s production teams to have such a high number of nominations, across such a variety of programming.

“This collection of nominations shows the effect of the power of two with NHNZ and BHP working closely together to get more traction in the market and also sharing human resources. It’s a wonderful recognition of talent and hard work for all involved in the two sister companies.”

BHP’s Creative Director Donovan Chan says he was surprised, but elated to be nominated for so many awards.

“It’s a fantastic way to end the year. And a real pat on the back for all of us here at BHP who have worked so hard. We’ve doubled our production load over the last two years; it’s been full on, but this kind of credit makes it all worthwhile.”

BHP’s Taiwan Revealed: Cinema Formosa for Discovery Networks Asia-Pacific is nominated for Best Documentary Programme (One-off/Special) and Best Current Affairs Programme. Restaurant Bobby Chinn, also for Discovery Networks Asia-Pacific, is nominated for Best Reality Show and directors David Grusovin & Quinn Berentson – both now working for NHNZ – are nominated for Best Direction, while Lonely Planet Six Degrees China – Shanghai for BBC Worldwide & CICC is nominated for Best Lifestyle Programme. BHP Senior Editor Dipin Verma is nominated for the Best Editing award for his work on Junkie Monastery for the Bio Channel, AETN, prior to joining BHP.

NHNZ received nominations for three shows, with Primeval New Zealand (in association with NHK, and produced for TVNZ with funding from NZ on Air) nominated in the Best Natural History or Wildlife Programme category and Jason Lindsay nominated for Best Editing for his work on Nat Geo Wild’s Built for the Kill: Lion.

NHNZ’s China office was also involved in CICC’s Long March Into Space production for DNA and Discovery, which has been nominated for Best Infotainment Programme.

The winners of the Asian Television Awards (ATA) will be announced at the 17th ATA Awards Ceremony on December 6th in Singapore.